Boards of Canada – In a Beautiful Place Out in the Country

Boards of Canada - In a Beautiful Place Out in the Country

Downtempo electronic group Boards of Canada’s 2000 EP In a Beautiful Place Out in the Country occupies a cute memory in my mind from my very first month as a DJ. While spinning music for my Friday 2AM-6AM shift, I got a call from a guy at around 4:15AM requesting “Amo Bishop Roden” off the EP. Being relatively new to independent music, I had not yet listened to anything by Boards of Canada – although I was familiar with their name.1 I cued up the track, and spent a wonderful six minutes listening while admiring how cool it was to be playing music like this at some god-forsaken hour of the night and sharing such a moment with a few people in town who were still awake for whatever reason. It’s one of my first memories DJing, and was one of the first requests I ever got on-air.2

In a Beautiful Place… is a short, pretty release that demonstrates BoC’s sound circa Music Has the Right to Children. It is good furniture music that’s a little less busy than Geodaddi, and it also has a few vocoder bits and clicks/cuts. Recommended? Sure, why not.3

1. Kid for Today – (6:23) – ★★★★★
2. Amo Bishop Roden – (6:15) – ★★★★★
3. In a Beautiful Place Out in the Country – (6:07) – ★★★☆☆
4. Zoetrope – (5:18) – ★★★☆☆

Overall: ★★★½☆

[UPDATE 26 April 2016: Changed the overall rating from four stars to three-and-a-half stars.]

1And that they were supposed to be “important.”
2The best request I ever had was a woman who just wanted me to keep talking to her because she thought I had a sexy voice. 19-year old me was not prepared for that conversation.
3Still a little hungover.

Leave a Reply

